Training for a Total

• Powerlifting Prep

PH3 Day 1/90

What's up Team CP,

I've created this training log not only to hold myself accountable throughout my first powerlifting prep, but I get questions about my training and nutrition on a regular basis. I hope that this becomes an open source of information for many to use, and answers some questions that I get on the regular. On here will be all of my training numbers, how I felt before, during, and after training, training footage, a few physique updates, and most of my nutrition and supplementation around my training. Also if I get any questions along the way, I'll gladly answer if I can.

I guess I should begin by introducing myself. My name is Devin West, I'm a Campus Protein rep at East Tennessee State University. This entire prep will be at my hometown gym though, as I'm home for the Summer. I'm in the BSN Nursing program and graduate in December, 2017 (Any day now PLZ). I've been lifting for 6 years, competed in Bodybuilding 3x (2x in 2013, 1x in 2014), and am beginning prep for my first powerlifting meet (duhh). I'm competing at the USAPL Powerlifting for Pups on August 13th. I'll be using Layne Norton's PH3 throughout my entire prep. I am a flexible dieter, so I count my daily macronutrients (fats. carbs, proteins) in order to hit my desired numbers. This allows me to eat the foods I love, while still getting the results I need. When I'm not training or eating, I'm walking my dog, riding jet skis or motorcycles, reading, or playing video games. Whatever is not on here, will probably be on my Instagram @devwest12 or Facebook, so feel free to add/follow me!

Training

Today is a Big 3 day. During the first phase of PH3, the training will be based on building volume, so reps are generally high while the percentages I train at are relatively low. Since this is the first week, my training volume will be pretty low, but as the weeks go on, it will gradually increase. On the Agenda is:
    Squat: 2x9 325 (72.5%)